1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

C1259 C1310 Brake system.

Discussion in 'Prius v Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Wedontneedpractice randy, Apr 19, 2024.

  1. Wedontneedpractice randy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    11
    4
    0
    Location:
    Estherville Iowa USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    V
    I had the brake pump and accumulator replaced with used part and I cannot get these 2 codes to clear

    I also do not have any comms to the ECB according to my scanner so I cant do the solenoid calibrate thing..

    I have researched threads but just get more confused. I am guessing I need the dealer to recode something or find a better scanner that can help me sort the issue?

    I have BMW's and Mercedes and thing thing is the one driving me up the wall...WTH?

    Thanks!!
     
  2. Wedontneedpractice randy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    11
    4
    0
    Location:
    Estherville Iowa USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    V
  3. Tim Jones

    Tim Jones Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    1,706
    553
    3
    Location:
    SE Texas
    Vehicle:
    2011 Nissan LEAF
    Model:
    ----USA----
    I think some people follow me on here......to see what crazy thing I'll say next.... lets see what happens
    you can get tech/stream and the cable on amazon... pretty cheap
     
    #3 Tim Jones, Apr 21, 2024
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2024
  4. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    23,545
    15,252
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    C1259 and C1310 codes from the brake system you can find described here:

    Blink (a/k/a Flash) Codes – How to. | PriusChat

    "Neither code means any problem with the brake system at all: they both tell you about some problem elsewhere in the car (in the hybrid powertrain control) that the brake system just needs to know about (because those systems cooperate to do regeneration). So these codes just mean you need to get the codes that really matter, from the ECUs controlling the hybrid system. (Sadly, that means you do need to arrange access to a scan tool, because those ECUs don't do blink codes.)"
     
    Tim Jones likes this.
  5. Wedontneedpractice randy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    11
    4
    0
    Location:
    Estherville Iowa USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    V
    So from what I have gathered online it seems the used units will need to be programed to the car via the dealership and it shouldnt take more than an hour ?The only other issue is if the one or both of the used components are not compatible and/or bad but other than the dash lights the brakes are working with no more pump running continuously
    If anyone has a differing opinion please chime in.

    Thanks!!
     
  6. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    23,545
    15,252
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    If C1259 and C1310 are the only brake system codes you have, you are not looking for a brake system issue at all, and there is nothing the brake system needs done.

    Those codes are nothing but the brake system telling you there are other trouble codes not in the brake system, but being reported by the power management control ECU, and you find what the real issue is by finding out what those codes are, using a scan tool that is capable of reading them.
     
  7. Brian1954

    Brian1954 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2021
    720
    270
    0
    Location:
    South Central PA, USA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    III
  8. Wedontneedpractice randy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    11
    4
    0
    Location:
    Estherville Iowa USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    V
    UPDATE!!

    Took it to dealer they are saying they cannot communicate with the brake booster so it must be bad even though I dont hear that whining pump sound anymore?...of course it cost me 350 bucks for that.

    Im lost and I hate this car....guess ill find a more capable scanner and pray the car gets wrecked in the meantime....

    The dealer said they cleared all codes which was bullshit ...same lights on same issue as when I brought it in.
     
  9. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    23,545
    15,252
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Lights indicate there are trouble codes, and trouble codes indicate there are troubles, so it is never a surprise if the codes and lights come back after clearing, if the troubles haven't been fixed. Sometimes they return immediately, sometimes after moments, or hours, or weeks, or months, depending on the methods the car uses to detect different kinds of trouble.

    Because your brake booster has been telling you about problems with the hybrid system, it must not be totally isolated from communication: it had to learn of the hybrid system troubles somehow. In any case, failure to connect to it with a scan tool would make one start off suspicious of all the connections that might have been disturbed during the replacement; I'd probably look carefully at those before being completely sure the unit itself is bad.
     
  10. Tim Jones

    Tim Jones Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    1,706
    553
    3
    Location:
    SE Texas
    Vehicle:
    2011 Nissan LEAF
    Model:
    ----USA----
    was the replacement booster the same part number..... as the original unit?
     
  11. Tim Jones

    Tim Jones Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    1,706
    553
    3
    Location:
    SE Texas
    Vehicle:
    2011 Nissan LEAF
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Not sure why you didn't get techstream and cable from Amazon. Would have saved you $300.
     
  12. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    23,545
    15,252
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Different people might have different opinions on hacked bootleg software, for starters, and even among people with no objection to that, they may have different pain thresholds for getting the poorly-documented bootlegs successfully installed and working.
     
  13. Tim Jones

    Tim Jones Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    1,706
    553
    3
    Location:
    SE Texas
    Vehicle:
    2011 Nissan LEAF
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Or let toy rip you off............... and their very poor gen 3 engineering.....
    Get a non hybrid toy and it last 15 years..... get a gen 3 and pay the price
     
    #13 Tim Jones, Apr 30, 2024
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2024
  14. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    23,545
    15,252
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Toy will let you use a bona fide, non-bootleg Techstream and work on your own issue for $70 for a two-day activation, which usually beats a dealer visit by a lot:

    • it's less to start with than the dealer diagnostic charge
    • you can work where you are without the hassle of getting the car to the dealer
    • it's less by a lot if you end up changing things and using the software repeatedly over the two days.

    Still, even that has setup effort and learning curve, and their online payment system has gotta be the clunkiest I've ever used.
     
    Air_Boss likes this.
  15. Wedontneedpractice randy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    11
    4
    0
    Location:
    Estherville Iowa USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    V
     
  16. Wedontneedpractice randy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    11
    4
    0
    Location:
    Estherville Iowa USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    V
    Dealer said they checked wiring and it was good but could not establish communication to brake booster ..

    said code U0219 was present ?.. My reader cannot see this code ...I may take the brain off the old booster place it on the new/used booster and see if that will re-establish comms. Looks like it can be removed form the pump with five bolts ? If not old one is going back one codes cleared and trading it off and I will have to eat some negative money.
     
  17. Wedontneedpractice randy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    11
    4
    0
    Location:
    Estherville Iowa USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    V
    PROBLEM SOLVED!!!!!!!!
    So my solution was simple, we took the brain of my original brake booster, removed it, and installed it on the good used unit I purchased from the junkyard. All the lights have gone away and the brake is not making that weird sound and losing pressure which is what happened and triggered C1391. I am pointing at part on the booster we swapped see picture.

    I am sure the dealer could have figured out how to get the used unit to talk to the car if I had spent enough money and I guess there is a chance the used unit's brain was bad but I kinda doubt it.

    So if you run into this issue and want an easy fix put the car's original brake booster electronic brain on your used part and it will be good. Be sure to check all the little gaskets when you take it apart and don't lose any or it will lose pressure.

    I am disappointed I didn't find the fix here right off the bat but I'm glad this post will hopefully help someone in the future.

    Once again no dash lights, no codes, and the system is holding brake pressure! Just clarifying for the people who are about to tell me I cant do what I did...I will check back in if I do run into problems or not.
     

    Attached Files:

    Air_Boss likes this.
  18. Air_Boss

    Air_Boss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    3,927
    1,074
    0
    Location:
    New Yawk
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Creative solution. Is the controller/servo unit a separate part number, or supposedly integral to the booster?
     
  19. Wedontneedpractice randy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    11
    4
    0
    Location:
    Estherville Iowa USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    V
    No clue? I was just looking at it and noticed the controller bolts onto the booster so we took it apart and figured why not give it a shot?...there are various size and shaped orifices with rubber gaskets. For now, it seems to be working, I guess when units lose pressure its because some of those gaskets go bad and start leaking...? I bet someone with a 3d printer could make new ones...some were just round but a couple others were odd-shaped .
     
    Air_Boss likes this.
  20. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    23,545
    15,252
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Not really clear what goes bad. The NHTSA investigation was interested in the valves, which seemed reasonable, given they do more than the gaskets, and could conceivably get worn or move sluggishly.

    There's at least one business mentioned on PriusChat that offers rebuilt units (or to rebuild yours if you send it), so by implication they have learned something about what goes wrong and how to correct it, but they're not telling.
     
    Air_Boss likes this.