1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

problem with TPMS reprogramming

Discussion in 'Prius c Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by ilya980, Dec 21, 2021.

  1. ilya980

    ilya980 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    39
    9
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    One


    I am trying to program new TPMS sensors on a 2013 Toyota Prius C One. After entering all 4 sensors IDs I get the error: "ID Registration failed due to communication error with the ECU while in Initialization mode. Terminate Initialization by connecting TC and CG of the DLC3 for 30 seconds. Then try the registration procedure again". Please see attached. I followed the procedure to connect the TC and CG pins for 30 seconds as stated in the attached service bulletin (several lights were flashing on dashboard while the jumper was in), but I still get the same error message. It looks like the cable cannot write new IDs to the ECU. The cable is MINI VCI J2534. The Techstream version is 12.10.019. Do you know how to fix this? Please help.

    Thank you.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    16,470
    8,387
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    The Mini Vci cable is not very good, it will lose connection often while you're doing any type of work with it.
     
  3. ilya980

    ilya980 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    39
    9
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    One
    It does not feel like an intermittent connection. It feels like the cable can't write to the ECU. Does cable firmware matter? I see posts online that people have problems writing to ECU with 1.4.1 firmware.
     
  4. vvillovv

    vvillovv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    3,541
    1,249
    1
    Location:
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    I can't say form personal experience if the firmware version for the OBD2 adapter is the culprit, but Drew tech has a Download for the latest firmware for the official toyota supported adapters they manufacture.
     
  5. ilya980

    ilya980 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    39
    9
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    One
    Just an update that I was able to reprogram TPMS IDs on this car with VXDIAG VCX Nano.
     
  6. PriusII&C

    PriusII&C Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    370
    128
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Just curious about your thoughts on using a stand-alone aftermarket TPMS system. It reports real time pressure and temperature. My Gen 3 Prius TPMS warning has lighted up, and I am weighing up replacement of the sensors/batteries vs. a new system.
     
  7. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    16,470
    8,387
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    You can get Sensors from Amazon that are really good for $51 a set that will last about 10 years. Don't need to look for a new system

    ROADFAR 315MHz Programmed Tire Pressure Monitoring System Sensor TPMS Sensor Fits For Lexus For Scion For Toyota 4pcs 4260706011 4260733011
     
    Hawkeye63 likes this.
  8. PriusII&C

    PriusII&C Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    370
    128
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Is this a plug&play set, or do you still need to use a special tool to program?
     
  9. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    16,470
    8,387
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    You would need to program in the new sensor codes. Techstream can do it. Many tire shops have this tool to do it, takes a few minutes if you give them the codes. The codes are on the sensors, just write them down before you install the sensors and program them in.
     
    PriusII&C likes this.
  10. HiC

    HiC Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    23
    16
    0
    Location:
    Northern, MN
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Digging up old thread here, but I am having exactly the same problem when attempting to register new ID codes in a ‘14 Prius C. In my case I know it is not the cable because I have been able to use same cable and software to write new sensor ID codes to two similar vintage Toyota 4Runners with no issue. thinking of trying Carista App next.