1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Can I use the Prius ABS in the Highlander Hybrid?

Discussion in 'Lexus Hybrids and EVs' started by theory816, Oct 9, 2023.

  1. theory816

    theory816 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    84
    22
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Base
    I have an older hybrid highlander with a malfunctioning ABS module that cannot be repaired. I'm thinking about using an old ABS module from a prius in order to get the pump motor to work, as I tinkered with mines and shorted it out. I will also buy a separate accumulator made for the 4runner and use that.

    I was wondering if this will work well enough. They also sell a seperate ABS motor for the non hybrid toyotas that is the same size, but its wired differently(it has to wired connectors instead of two prongs that goes into the ABS block) - I was wondering if its possible to strip the wires and solder/wire it to fit the hybrid version.

    As my car sits now, it will not start because of no ABS module. I want to go this route because the Prius ABS units are cheaper, whereas the one made for my vehicle specifically is almost $1000.
     
  2. Leadfoot J. McCoalroller

    Leadfoot J. McCoalroller Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    6,990
    6,595
    1
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    I thought the guts of those things were tuned for the specific weight, balance and wheel size of the car model & trim they were intended for.
     
  3. theory816

    theory816 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    84
    22
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Base
    I think only the accumulator is sized for the specific car. The ABS motor is same size. That's why I wanted to use the Prius ABS module and switch out the accumulator with a new one from a 4runner.
     
  4. theory816

    theory816 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    84
    22
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Base
    I think only the accumulator is sized for the specific car. The ABS motor is same size. That's why I wanted to use the Prius ABS module and switch out the accumulator with a new one from a 4runner.
     
  5. theory816

    theory816 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    84
    22
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Base
    If this method works it will save alot of money.
     
  6. theory816

    theory816 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    84
    22
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Base
    I think only the accumulator is sized for the specific car. The ABS motor is same size. That's why I wanted to use the Prius ABS module and switch out the accumulator with a new one from a 4runner.
     
  7. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    6,155
    5,838
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    So you're saying the 5 million pin connector on the Prius is identical to the Highlander? They each have the same brake line connections? They each have the same mounting points? The same zero calibrations? The same pressure range sensors?

    The standard Highlander and hybrid model have different abs modules, right?
     
  8. theory816

    theory816 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    84
    22
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Base
    The ABS isn't that sophisticated. I believe they are almost the same size, except for the accumulator, which is larger on the SUVs. I want to test but the parts are so expensive, even on the smaller Prius.
     
  9. rjparker

    rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    7,763
    4,557
    7
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Typically you can’t even use one year’s Prius master cylinder (brake booster) on another year Prius much less on a different model. A Prius hatchback master cylinder won’t work on a c or a v. The internal ecu has to coordinate the brake by wire system with regen braking in addition to normal abs and traction control. Most years have two unique part numbers, one for each tire size. The firmware on a replacement has to match the original.
     
  10. theory816

    theory816 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    84
    22
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Base
    I don't believe there is coding within the ECU that takes into account the difference model specs. The ECU just takes into account the ABS sensors and kicks in when there is a change in one wheel. The accumulator size just holds more pressure
     
  11. rjparker

    rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    7,763
    4,557
    7
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I believe the owners who screw up and buy the wrong unit and can’t get the system to run. Even with just a tire size difference. The ecu is doing many things in addition to abs. But you can go for it…
     
  12. theory816

    theory816 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    84
    22
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Base
    Ill just have to try. At this point there's not many options.
     
  13. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    6,155
    5,838
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Hopefully, you fully understand what you're about to get into.
    Please let us know how it goes!! Wish you the best.

    For some reason this is reminding me of the member who tried to install a fuel tank from a different Toyota into his Gen 2 so he could have an extra 5-6 gallons of fuel for long trips. That turned into quite a bit of (unsuccessful) chaos...
     
  14. theory816

    theory816 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    84
    22
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Base
    Right now I'm just trying to fiddle with the original ABS DC motor to get it to work again. Im having trouble taking off the base plate to get to the brushes.
     
  15. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    6,155
    5,838
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Can you clarify exactly what you are trying to do? What failure you experienced? If it's just that the motor itself stopped running, that could be a very easy repair. If the motor runs fine, but the unit isn't holding pressure, it could be an accumulator problem (rarely) or a leakage problem (most likely).
     
  16. theory816

    theory816 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    84
    22
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Base
    The motor wasn't working because the brushes were all worn down plus there was alot of carbon brush build up. It worked for a while after I had cleaned it up but then stopped again so I thought I try to replace one of the brushes. I did a bad job with this and ended up shorting it out. So now I'm having to fix this issue. After I fix this I will have to replace the accumulator with a new one from the 4 runner, which seems to be about the same size but different in costmetics. Hopefully it all works out.

    It was tough to figure out because I don't know much about electricity and all of the components.
     
  17. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    6,155
    5,838
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    That's a bit more understandable. I was under the impression you were trying to do a complete swap of the abs unit. I have units in the garage that were removed from cars due to leakage issues, but the motors are still fine, as far as I know. Why do you need to swap the accumulator?
     
  18. theory816

    theory816 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    84
    22
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Base
    Its not holding pressure. There's no way to rebuild it.
     
  19. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    6,155
    5,838
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    So your ABS module is suffering from multiple failures? A motor failure and an accumulator failure? Are you sure the accumulator isn't holding pressure due to an accumulator failure and not just leaky valves in the module itself?

    Can you post a photo or 5 of the Highlander ABS module?
     
  20. theory816

    theory816 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    84
    22
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Base
    The dtc was that the accumulator wasn't holding pressure. No dtc on the abs motor but it wasn''t spinning up when it needed to. Maybe it was over heating due to being on all the time. I don't believe there's a leak in the ABS block.

    The DC motor is getting 30 ohms instead of 3 lol.